The Year in Review

Woohoo!  I made it!  I knew in September that I was heading into a tough year.  I’ve changed jobs, watched my mother progress through the stages of Alzheimers, helped my 12 year old son learn to deal with the social challenges that Asperger kids face, dealt with an unemployed husband, struggled with an aging dog, coached and much more.  But, through all of this, I ran.  I ran and I ran and I ran.

When I first started running, it was simply a form of exercise; running was something that I enjoyed doing.   As kids and career took over, running was still those things but it also became an outlet.   Whenever I came back from a run, whether it was at home or at work, I was energized and ready to face the challenges that the rest of the day would bring.

Over the past year, I have faced many challenges.  And, to make things a little more interesting, I added two more: training for Boston and joining the Toronto Olympic Club.  Through both, I have learned to push myself physically, to dig deep, to set goals and do what it takes to achieve them – and hit the reset the ‘power’ button when they fall apart. 

In no particular order, I am a mother, wife, daughter, sister, friend, teacher, and mentor.  I am all of these things because I am a runner.

Tomorrow’s post:  Race review –  Great Canadian Trail Run
(Yes, the work button is on pause so there is more time for blogging)

Leave a Reply

