Reflection: It’s All About Respect

Here I am, a week later, and I’ve asked myself a gazillion times “Did I do the right thing?”  There is no right or wrong answer to that question; I simply did what felt right at the time.

My biggest problem in Boston was I wasn’t mentally prepared to slow down the pace.  On Sunday night, Dave and I talked about running a 9 minute mile but when I realized that would mean running an extra half hour, I said, “That’s too long.  I don’t want to do that.”   I was in Boston for a decent marathon, not just for the experience, but the pace that the heat dictated was not going to give me that. 

Looking back, I realize that had I not been pushed, I wouldn’t have taken the time to head into the porta-potty and realize that I was quickly getting dehydrated.   I’ve always believed that things happen for a reason; perhaps that fall kept me from ending up in far worse shape down the road.  Perhaps I did err, but I erred on the side of caution; that’s my age coming through.

Two things really bothered me once I finally got to the finish area.  First, the hotrods – the reds from Wave 1 – were just coming in when I got there.  I was mad at myself because they were stronger than I was; they were able to finish.  Secondly, I worried about facing my classes – 56 grade 6 students – and having them think that their teacher was a quitter.  On Tuesday, I took time to talk to them about the run and why I stopped; I explained that it wasn’t worth the risk of getting sick or beating up my body on a slow marathon.  They seemed to understand.

On a daily basis, at home and at school, I teach my sons and students the importance of respect.  Pulling out at 13K was about that – respecting the marathon distance, the heat, and my age.   Some days, like Monday, it would be so much easier if I just didn’t care.

One comment

  1. Please don't agonize on this. You did what was right for you. You don't owe anyone any explanations and you have nothing to be ashamed of. I pity the fool who dares to judge you. Big hugs girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

