Forty Weeks

I feel like I’m pregnant.  That’s right, pregnant.  In the past forty weeks, I’ve been an emotional yo-yo, watched my weight change, had days when I just can’t seem to eat enough and, of course, felt nauseous.  But wait! I’m not pregnant; I’m training for a marathon.

Over the past three weeks, the end of high mileage weeks, I’ve noticed a change in my eating habits which reminds me of my pregnant years.   I’m craving certain foods and, oddly enough, the same foods that I desperately wanted when my boys were barely ideas.  

With Skipper, I ate eggs, hard-boiled eggs, every single day during the first trimester.   As soon as I got home from school, I’d put two in a pot of water and ten minutes later, the queasy stomach feeling was gone.  Now, I don’t think I’ve eaten more than a dozen eggs in the past eleven years – that is, until February, when that nauseous feeling that was reminiscent of pregnancy reappeared.  Just as before, eggs have settled my stomach.  Yum!

Similarly, when Little Ironman was just an idea, I never felt sick, but I craved chocolate.  In the same way, this marathon has not happened yet and I know that I shouldn’t eat too much sugar.  However, my sweet tooth keeps winning and I have to meet my daily quota of chocolate for my own personal happiness.  Fortunately (or not, depending on your point of view), I’m still working my way though the chocolates that I received from my classes at Christmas.  Delicious!

The big question, though, is what will happen to these favorites when Boston is over.  Without a doubt, chocolate will still be at the top of my list.  Eggs?  Well, I do love them now but, at the rate I’m eating them, I’ll probably be quite happy to wait another 11 years before I start to indulge in them again.

What are your favorite running foods?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

