That Wasn’t Suppose to Happen

But I’m really glad it did. After tucking the boys in bed late last night – hoping that they would sleep in this morning – I got my running gear ready so that I could quietly slide out for my ten miles.

However, yesterday’s efforts to tire out the boys failed. Little Ironman perked up at 6:30, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, asking if he had school today. “Great, can you turn on the t.v. for me?” It was easy for me to agree. After all, the electronic babysitter would keep him happy while Skipper and Daddy were still sleeping. I left him armed with breakfast snacks and milk already in cups in the fridge, started to head out the door and heard “Mom!”

It was Skipper, who was up yesterday at 6:00 a.m. to get ready for a choir trip in Stratford, Ontario. He didn’t get home until 11:00 last night and fell asleep close to midnight. I was sure that he would want to sleep until 9:00. However, he was keen to go to Church, and who am I to argue with a ten year old boy who wants to go to Church.

“Make sure you wear something decent and eat breakfast. Call Mrs. W. if you want a ride and she’ll pick you up.”

With that I was out the door – 30 minutes later than I wanted but with a huge sense of freedom and without tears from the boys. The plan was to run 10 miles and I was nervous about it. This was the training run that would determine if I would be ready to run the half-marathon in Montreal next weekend; this was the first of two training runs that will dictate which event I’ll be running on May 15th. With the marathon still being a goal, I wanted this run to be strong.

And it was. When I reached the 9 mile mark, I decided that I was feeling strong enough to add a few more miles. Instead of turning left, I veered right and ran a loop, finishing with a 12.2 mile run. That wasn’t what I expected at all!

And, even better than the extra distance was my time: 1:30:39, total time out! I was thrilled. Even though I’ve had two weeks of long running off, my pace was 2 seconds per mile slower than it was at the beginning of March but I felt so much stronger this morning. I’m feeling fairly confident that I can keep that pace next weekend.

Gardez, Montreal, je vais! Six more sleeps.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

