Toeing the Line with Ed

In the last twelve hours, my emotions over tomorrow’s track event have gone from nervous to extremely nervous to super excited – the kind of giggly excited that only a high school girl whose crush has asked her to the prom can understand. In fact, I think I’m as excited as Beth was before she ran with Dean. Tomorrow, I am toeing the line with the legendary Ed Whitlock.

That’s right – World Record holder Ed Whitlock. In high school, Ed ran a 4:31 mile. At age 48, he ran a 2:31:23 marathon and, at the spry age of 73, his marathon time was 2:54. Did I tell you he is 79 years old?

And, tomorrow, we will be running the 3000 metre event together. We might even finish together; after all, my seed time (my educated guess) is only 10 seconds faster than his. Heck, for a chance to cross the finish line hand in hand, I’d throw the race.

So this pressure that I’ve been feeling for the past three weeks about this mini-meet is gone. I’m the only lady in the event and I’m second slowest runner. But, I’m second to Ed Whitlock and that is an honour. Now I don’t have to worry about where I need to hide as all eyes will be on him.

Tonight I went through my pre-race rituals: picked out my Running Skirt (solid brown – something conservative for the older crowd) and top (Pink – because I’m the only gal running); shaved my legs (I’m the only gal there, remember?); charged my camera. And, for this photo finish, I might even have to pack lipstick.

3 comments

  1. Was sending you good vibes this aft…my race in the morning wasn't amazing but I'll take it for my first 1500m ever. Can't wait to hear how it went! (ps I actually put a little lipstick on this morning and had to chuckle…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

