Do I Have It in Me?

As this running season is drawing to a close, I can’t help but remember where I was over 20 years ago when I first started racing. I had dreams – big ones and doable. But I was also young, just starting my career and, let’s face it, running doesn’t pay the bills.

Now that I’m settled with both work and family, I’ve been able to start chasing my dreams again. And, in September, after running the Grapes Half-Marathon, I realized that my dreams might still be a reality.

Margaret, who is my age and, until this year, has been finishing ahead of me since my re-entry to the racing scene, congratulated me on my time and added, “You could be running the Nationals with a time like that.” I looked at her blankly. “I did it last year,” she said. “You had a really good time. You’d do well.”

Of course, I looked at the National Half-Marathon results for Master’s Women that night and I’ve been thinking about them ever since. After this weekend’s half, another running friend has sent similar encouragement, researching what I need to do to compete and where I need to run.

I’m in a good spot in my life; work is great and the boys are old enough that I could put more time into my running. While a spring marathon is my focus for the next 6 months, training for the half-distance is part of that.

Quite honestly, the only thing that worries me is speedwork; Ontario roads are icy in the winter and an indoor track is not an option. So, if I go after the Nationals, it would only be for the experience.

I have a few weeks left to decide. What do you think?

6 comments

  1. I would go for it! Speed work can be tricky here in the Winter but I substitute hill repeats (that's the good thing about training for an ultra, no speedwork). Nationals would be an experience, and where there is a will there's a way. I'm sure you would find a way to do the speedwork necessary for training if you set your mind to do it! Good Luck!

    Like

  2. Chasing a dream is something I wished I did all those years ago as well. I ran the Boston and then got hurt and never went on in running. I did nothing for 25 years. Now back on the scene I realize that I should have gone bigger then but never did.

    My opinion …….. GO FOR IT. You'll kick yourself later if you don't.

    Like

  3. Glad you asked. I read about 20 blogs (which is ALOT for me) and when I read yours (particularly the race reviews) I always think how lucky I am to be able to observe such a talented runner. The Half distance is so good for you, I think you should pursue it.
    And of course, in terms of fulfilling your dreams, a Happy Mom makes for a Happy Family. Seems like an easy decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

