Eating and Running

Sunday is the day of The Chocolate Half Marathon in Port Dalhousie, Ontario. It should be no surprise that the event, which also includes a 5K and 10K run/walk, is almost sold out!

For those of you who may be wondering why, the answer is simple: chocolate! The course is out and back with 4 aid stations (meaning 8 stops, if you take them all) and two of them have water and chocolate. But after the race, runners and walkers can sink their teeth into chocolate dipped strawberries, chocolate covered rice krispy treats, fudge samples and truffles.

As with any race, I have done my homework and studied the course map, the elevation and the aid stations. I have absolutely no intention of eating on the course. Instead, I am aiming to run as fast as I can and beat all of the other women to the finish line so that I get dibs on the chocolate.

The boys are quite excited about going to The Chocolate Race. Last year, they helped at a water station and Skipper brought home all of the leftover Hershey Kisses; he smiled about it for days. In the past six months, Little Ironman has also discovered chocolate and, so, he is keen to tag along because (1) it is a race and (2) it promises chocolate. Daddy is just being an awesome husband and working out the logistics.

And, being the amazing trio that they are, they are going to be watching the Running Skirts booth while the girls are running the course. Yes, they are “manning” the station and are so, so excited about it. I may just have to thank them by getting them a Running Skirt – but in a size to grow into or down to so that I can adequately test it out first!

Finally, my toe seems fine for the 13.1 miles. After being on meds for three days, I am intentionally skipping tomorrow ( bad, I know) so that I don’t have to worry about the gastrointestinal side effects. I’m packing them to come with me, though, so that I can pop them right after my run. The package reads “Take with Food.” I sure hope that they go well with chocolate!

16 comments

  1. Good luck on Sunday. Port D is always a rockin place on the weekends in the summer and the run just makes it more so

    … sorry about the evolving into a new species comment (bad me, bad)

    Like

  2. Good luck on Sunday! What a great sounding race. My friends and I often field relay teams for local marathons and always go by “Run for Chocolate.” I think we need to do that one…

    Like

  3. How in the world did I not know about this race?! Good luck tomorrow! I can't wait to read about all the great chocolate, I mean how fast you ran tomorrow. And thanks so much for your good luck and congratulatory wishes before and after my race today!

    Like

  4. I hope you had a good race! I can't believe they actually serve chocolate at the aid stations during the run. I think I would have the same plan as you…run fast, then get the dibs on the best chocolate at the end! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

