Where is my mask?

I looked everywhere for my mask on Saturday but it was no where to be found. It’s just as well as a true bandit doesn’t want to stand out.

A few weeks ago, G at Neurosis of a Stay at Home Mom decided to host a Half and Half Virtual Race; either run a half-marathon or half of a 10K (yes, a 5K) to keep us motivated through July.
I decided that I wanted to participate but wasn’t sure which to do as, at the time, I wasn’t sure where I would be in my training. So, I decided to wait to register.

The problem came last week when I realized that I missed the cut-off for registration for this first-time virtual race so I did the unspoken: I ran as a bandit.

That’s right, on Saturday night, at 6:05 p.m., I headed out for my 5 mile run with the intention of racing the first 5K because I really, really wanted to participate in the race. I wasn’t taking anyone’s water, gatorade, or racekit shwag; I wasn’t going to try to grab a finisher’s medal at the end, nor was I going to eat their food; I definitely wasn’t going to scream that I should be included in awards – as a bandit. No, all I wanted to do was run the race.

So, I did. Skipper jumped on his bike and paced me (that’s right, if I’m going to be a bandit in a race, I’m going to have a pacer too) through a speedy 5K, finishing in 21:47. If my little Superhero were around, I’m sure I could have shaved a few seconds off my time as crime-fighters are always chasing bad gals like me.

Me – a virtual bandit. Now, that is one for the books.

8 comments

  1. If you're sure. I had written you down in my notes as a participant, because you had commented that you wanted to participate. But if you're sure, I'll move down the list to the second place 5K time. Thanks for participating, your BANDIT run made me smile. Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

