What a Difference 60 Pounds Can Make.

For a while, I’ve been thinking about running the Acura 10 miler this coming Sunday in Toronto. But…. yes, there is always a but.

I’m out of shape. I was in shape – until mid-April when I got sick. Then, I spent weeks recovering and am just recently starting to feel like myself again. While I have been running again, those awesome 25K long runs have not been happening. In fact, the longest I’ve run since April 19th is 8 miles, and I only did that once.

Deciding whether I should run this race, then, has been difficult. In theory, I should be able to run and finish, no matter what. In reality, if I don’t run respectfully well, I’ll get mad at myself. So, I had to test myself first.

A longer run (8 miles) last Sunday was out of the question; I was racing on Thursday and didn’t want to mess that up. So, I planned to run 6 miles this Saturday, followed by 8 miles on Sunday.

Of course, runs don’t always end up the way we planned. Daddy was working on Saturday so I had both boys with me, my youngest in the jogger. Now, in case you forgot, he was away for 12 days so this was the first run I did with him in almost three weeks; it was hot, windy and he is definitely growing. But, I did it.

Yesterday, it was just Skipper and me, heading out at 3:00 in the afternoon when the humidex was at 38C (or 98.6F, according to my handy dandy temperature conversion chart). But Number Two had a meltdown when he realized we were leaving him behind with Daddy so I did what any good mother would do; I strapped him into the jogger. It didn’t seem like that bad an idea; it meant we could pack a few extra water bottles in the jogger.

Four miles into the run, I realized that it was a bad idea. It was too hot, my shoulder was killing me from pushing the jogger and I was miserable. Had I been alone, I would have kept going, but I had my boys with me; I had to get them home. I abandonned my run and walked home.

This morning, I headed out alone at 7:30; starting temperature was 28C (humidex 32C). It was just as hot and sunny as yesterday, but I was able to get through 8.4 miles. The only difference was I didn’t have to push a 40 pound child and 1.5 litres of water in a 22 pound machine; it was just me. Sure, I had to walk a bit but I would have anyways because that was only my second 8 mile run since April.

By the time I got home, about an hour later, the humidex was right back up to 38C and I downed a litre of water. Then, it hit me. I am in shape. If I can do that today, after bailing yesterday and running 6 miles the day before, then I am ready for Sunday’s race.

Tonight, I just made the cut-off for online registrations as I registered for Sunday’s 10 miler. For me, it won’t be a race; it will be a training run. If the winds blow the right way, anything can happen.

5 comments

  1. I had a hard run yesterday because of this heat wave we are having and it was at the gym (their air was not working well). I am also running the Acura 10 Miler on Sunday and I have run the distance but not in a race so I am a bit nervous. Hopefully I will see you there….well I will see you running away from me….LOL….you have great times and you can definately do the 10 Miler!

    Like

  2. Good for you for signing up. I always have a tough time racing when I'm not in shape, so I think you are courageous for getting to the start line. Hopefully it's the start of getting back to where you want to be!

    Like

  3. Thank goodness the additional 60 pounds are temporary!

    10 miles is a very fun distance.
    I think I saw the words “training run” so I hope the race atmosphere alone pushes you to another age group or master's award.

    Like

Leave a Reply

