Boot Camp – Weekend Challenge

This weekend had many physical challenges for me. The first – the Rock Your Socks Off Virtual Race – gave me the kick in the skirt that I needed to run 10K again. The second, Virtual Boot Camp, was organized by my bloggy friends over at Inperspire. I was doing really well with rebuilding core strength until the end of April; then, I just stopped. Well, really, I physically couldn’t for 2 weeks and, then, I just hadn’t felt like doing any core work. So the boot camp that Jimmy at Inperspire organized was just the challenge I needed to remind myself that I am strong.

Between Friday, Saturday and Sunday, I had to complete 100 push-ups, 300 Jumping Jacks, 200 Sit-ups, and 300 Jump Ropes. What I really liked about this is that I could spread them over the three days – perfect when I have other things on the go.

The boys helped with the Jumping Jacks and Jump Ropes. After all, what child doesn’t like to jump up and down. The Jumping Jacks I got out of the way in one day – easy enough to do when you’re fooling around outside. Besides, these are the same boys that will race me around our circle and play frisbee for a few hours. We spread the 300 Jump Ropes over two days, only because we were tired from other play and it was time to start thinking about dinner.

I pride myself in my push-ups; many have commented on my form (full push-up). But knew I could never pull off doing 100 of them at once – not without slowly building up. So, I did 40 on Friday night, 30 on Saturday and the last 30 on Sunday. My arms were killing me by the end of yesterday and I’m grateful for a few days off upper body. Sit-ups were easier, and I did them over Friday night and Saturday.

So, I finished the first challenge. Honestly, I thought my arms were going to fall off last night but when I woke up this morning, I found that they are still attached. Lifting my youngest is not easy to do today, though.

I’m worried about the challenge for this coming weekend as I’m racing on Sunday morning and don’t want to risk being tired for that; this will probably meaning doing the whole thing on Sunday afternoon and evening. As long as I can play with the boys while doing it, it will get done.

3 comments

  1. I felt the same way after the boot camp – my arms were killing me (I had to do modified push ups, but I dislike push ups so much that I don't remember the last time I did more than 12!), but in the end, I felt stronger mentally and physically. The fact that you run (really run) and can do full push ups is amazing to me 🙂

    Like

  2. Man, what IS it about kids and liking to jump around like they have ants in their pants?!? If we could only harness some of that energy to power light bulbs or something……

    Like

Leave a Reply

