Daddy Earned His Socks

Even though mornings aren’t his thing, Hubby did get himself out of bed today to run the 5K in Burlington. Quite honestly, I did expect him to wake up, complain about a tough night at work, and state that he was too tired to run. Instead, he got up without a word and went through the morning ritual of a shower, bowl of oatmeal and trip to the bathroom; it was obvious that he was excited.
The Bunny Hop was first and it almost didn’t happen for our boys. Number 1 was grumpy and didn’t feel like running. He needed time to train, I was told, and I shouldn’t have registered him. It wasn’t worth pushing it. My youngest needed a trip to the bathroom just before it started and, of course, that had to take priority. By the time we got to the start line, a lot of little bunnies had already finished but that didn’t stop us. We ran up the hill for a minute and turned around to come back (I was afraid I wouldn’t be ready for my race). He doesn’t know he ran short and he still got his finishing medal so it’s all good.
Daddy and I were up next. We left the boys with friends and found our starting points, mine being mid-pack and his somewhere behind. My first mile was slow (7:45) but my finishing time was 22:37. After collecting the boys, we cheered Daddy on at the finish – and many other men who went by the name of “Daddy”. The real Dad finished in 29:20.
So, now Daddy can wear his DeFeet socks with pride. He is now looking at a few other runs to do in the next two months, likely a 5K and a 10K. Now I have one more thing to plan my races around.
Me? I can wear my running socks too – and, when the snow flies again (shhhh), I have a new pair of Saucony gloves that I won for finishing second in my age group. Gotta love it!

8 comments

  1. 7:45 is “slow?!” PLEASE send me some of your “slow mojo.” Congrats on finishing second in your age group. I like how you just kinda added that at the end. Heck, the title of my post would have been “I FREAKIN' WON 2ND IN MY ADE GROUP” if it was me. OK, I guess you're more modest than me. Congrats to you, your hubby, and the little ones. So nice it was quality family time together.

    Like

  2. Wow! Congrats on winning second in your age group…and congrats to dad for a great race! Something tells me you won't be the only one addicted to running in the house for long 🙂

    Like

  3. Isn't fun to do races together as a family! I love that! I just wish I could find $5 races around here! What a deal! So are you saying they gave socks to everyone that participated?

    Congrats on winning the book from Happy runner!

    Like

Leave a Reply

